Commerce Report Switzerland.

From 2009 to 2022, the Commerce Report Switzerland explored annually how distribution to consumers is developing under the influence of digitalisation in Switzerland – as the only Swiss study of its kind from the perspective of the vendor.

Digitalisation in consumer sales. 
A qualitative survey from the vendors‘ point of view.

Current study

Read the Management Summary of the Commerce Report Switzerland 2022 and download the entire study report 2022.

Current study

Press release

Read the latest press release.

Press release

Study panel

The study panel for the Commerce Report is made up of market-shaping providers for consumer goods and services based in Switzerland.

Study panel

Previous reports

All documents of the study series since 2009 can be downloaded free of charge as PDF files.

Study archive

The study series

The study series was commissioned by Datatrans Ltd, the leading Swiss specialist for internet payments. It wants to make a contribution to the reflection and further development of sales concepts to consumers. 

Distribution is changing rapidly under the influence of digitalisation - the study series accompanies this development. Its statements are based predominantly on the experiences and assessments of the members of the approximately 30-strong study panel. Its members are designers and decision-makers from potentially market-shaping providers of consumer goods and services in Switzerland. They have been surveyed annually by the University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland FHNW since 2009. 

The study series launched in 2009 under the title E-Commerce Report Switzerland still had a basic understanding of a market divided in two categories: stationary and online. When this division was no longer tenable, the 12th edition was published in the summer of 2020 with the new guiding concept of the networked world of offerings under the adapted title Commerce Report Switzerland.

Then came the Corona crisis and it became apparent that it would accelerate the structural change . But how exactly? Answering this question was the aim of the following three reports:

  1. The published June 2021 edition «Barometer» is an assessment of the current situation in Swiss retailing after the turbulent Corona year 2020.
  2. In the November 2021 issue of «Focus», the impact of the pandemic on distribution to consumers is interpreted as an epochal change. The indicators of the epoch change are described in detail. This is followed by a summary of the characteristics of the changed distribution and a classification in the long-term transformation of retail. 
  3. In the final, 15th edition of September 2022, the topics of over-distribution and possibilities for differentiation via values and services will be covered after a renewed assessment of the current situation. In addition, the third part describes the current picture of distribution with consumers at the centre, which was developed in the course of the study series. For each role and different forms of cooperation, strengths and weaknesses from today's perspective and considerations for further development in a perspective up to 2030 are presented.
Datatrans AG – Prof. Ralf Wölfle | Head of Competence Centre E-Business at the FHNW

Prof. Ralf Wölfle

Head of Competence Centre E-Business at the FHNW

«In the networked world of offers, stationary and online stand side by side as touchpoints. The study series shows how the roles and the structure of distribution to consumers are changing. The structural change is not over yet.»

Datatrans AG – Prof. Dr. Uwe Leimstoll | Lecturer on Information Systems at the FHNW

Prof. Dr. Uwe Leimstoll

Lecturer on Information Systems at the FHNW

«Drawing on personal interviews with around 30 C-level decision-makers, the Commerce Report takes an in-depth look at current topics in Swiss e-commerce. It captures the zeitgeist while remaining scientifically grounded.»

The study panel

The interviewees represent Swiss e-commerce merchants of consumer goods and services who have the potential to shape the market. They make up the study panel for the Commerce Report.

Members of the Study Panel Switzerland 2022

Supporting organisations

Contact 

University of Applied Sciences and Arts Northwestern Switzerland FHNW 
(Study concept and execution)
School of Business, Institute for Information Systems 
Peter Merian-Strasse 86
CH-4002 Basel
Tel. +41 61 279 17 55
www.fhnw.ch/iwi/e-business

Prof. Ralf Wölfle
Head of Competence Centre E-Business
E-Mail

Datatrans Ltd (Originator and commissioning body)
Kreuzbühlstrasse 26
CH-8008 Zurich
Tel. +41 44 256 81 91
www.datatrans.ch
www.weareplanet.com

Daniel Ellersiek
COO
E-Mail

To the study archive or read the Management Summary.

Commerce Report Suisse.

Le Commerce Report Suisse a examiné de 2009 à 2022 une fois par an l’évolution de la vente aux consommateurs en Suisse dans le contexte de la numérisation. Il s’agit de la seule étude suisse basée sur le point de vue des commerçants en ligne.

La digitalisation de la distribution aux consommateurs. Une étude qualitative du point de vue des commerçants en ligne.

Étude actuelle

Consultez le Management Summary du Commerce Report Suisse 2022 et téléchargez le rapport de l’étude 2022 complet en allemand ou anglais.

L’étude actuelle

Communiqué de presse

Lisez le dernier communiqué de presse.

Communiqué de presse.

Panel d'étude

Le groupe d'étude du Commerce Report est composé de fournisseurs de biens et de services de consommation basés en Suisse et sont les leaders du commerce en ligne.

Panel de l'étude

Archives de l'étude

Tous les documents de la série d'études depuis 2009 peuvent être téléchargés gratuitement sous forme de fichiers PDF.

Archives de l'étude

La série d’études

La série d'études a été commandée par Datatrans SA, le principal fournisseur suisse de paiements en ligne. Elle veut contribuer ainsi à la réflexion et au développement des concepts de distribution aux consommateurs. 

La distribution évolue très rapidement sous l'influence de la numérisation – la série d'études accompagne cette tendance. Ses conclusions se fondent principalement sur les expériences et les appréciations des membres du groupe d'étude, composé d'une trentaine de personnes. Ses membres sont des leaders et décideurs des fournisseurs de biens de consommation et de services susceptibles de déterminer le marché en Suisse. Depuis 2009, ils sont interviewés chaque année par la Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz FHNW. 

La série d'études lancée en 2009 avec le titre E-Commerce Report Suisse avait à l’époque une notion basique d'un marché divisé en deux catégories: stationnaire et en ligne. Lorsque cette répartition a perdu sa raison d'être, la douzième édition a été publiée à l'été 2020 avec le nouveau concept cadre du monde des offres en réseau, sous le titre adapté de Commerce Report Suisse.

Puis la crise du coronavirus est apparue et il est devenu évident qu'elle allait accélérer le changement structurel. Mais de quelle manière exactement? L'objectif des trois rapports suivants était de répondre à cette question:

  1. Dans l'édition «Baromètre» publié en juin 2021, il s'agit de faire un bilan du secteur du commerce de détail en Suisse après l'année Corona turbulente de 2020.
  2. Dans le numéro «Focus» de novembre 2021, l'impact de la pandémie sur la distribution aux consommateurs est interprété comme un changement d'époque. Les indicateurs de ce changement d'époque sont décrits en détail. Suivent un résumé des caractéristiques de la distribution modifiée et une classification dans la métamorphose à long terme du commerce de détail. 
  3. Dans la quinzième et édition finale de septembre 2022, après un nouvel bilan, les thèmes de la surdistribution et des possibilités de différenciation par les valeurs et les services seront abordés. En complément, la troisième partie décrit l'image actuelle de la distribution élaborée au cours de la série d'études, avec les consommateurs au centre. Pour chaque rôle et différentes formes de collaboration, les forces et les faiblesses sont présentées du point de vue actuel et des réflexions sont faites sur l'évolution future dans une perspective à l'horizon 2030.
Datatrans AG – Prof. Ralf Wölfle | Directeur du département E-Business FHNW

Prof. Ralf Wölfle

Directeur du département E-Business FHNW

«Dans le monde de l'offre en réseau, les points de contact stationnaires et en ligne se côtoient. La série d'études montre comment les rôles et la structure de la distribution aux consommateurs évoluent. Le changement structurel n'est pas encore terminé.»

Datatrans AG – Prof. Dr. Uwe Leimstoll | Enseignant d’informatique de gestion FHNW

Prof. Dr. Uwe Leimstoll

Enseignant d’informatique de gestion FHNW

«Etabli dans le cadre d’entretiens individuels conduits avec une trentaine de décideurs de niveau C, l’étude approfondit les thèmes actuels du secteur du commerce en ligne en Suisse. Ce rapport dans l’air du temps se fonde sur bases scientifiques.»

Le panel de l'étude

Les responsables de l’étude interrogent les représentants de fournisseurs leader de e-commerce, offrant des biens de consommation et des services, et disposant d’un siège social en Suisse. Ils constituent le panel de l’étude pour le E-Commerce Report.

Membres du panel de l’étude Suisse 2022

Organismes responsables

Contact 

Fachhochschule Nordwestschweiz (Concept et réalisation de l’étude)
Hochschule für Wirtschaft, Institut für Wirtschaftsinformatik
Peter Merian-Strasse 86
CH-4002 Bâle
Tél. +41 61 279 17 55
www.fhnw.ch/iwi/e-business

Prof. Ralf Wölfle
Directeur du département E-Business
E-Mail

Datatrans SA (Initiateur et commanditaire)
Kreuzbühlstrasse 26
CH-8008 Zurich
Tél. +41 44 256 81 91
www.datatrans.ch
www.weareplanet.com

Daniel Ellersiek
COO
E-Mail

Vers les archives de l'étude ou lire le   Management Summary.